As a Woman: What I Learned about Power, Sex, and the Patriarchy After I Transitioned

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Author
Paula Stone Williams
ISBN
9781982153342
List Price $27.00
Hardcover


Minimum purchase of 25 required for this product.

This title is available for pre-order and will be processed on Jun 1st 2021 for shipment.

  • Price Each
  • Subtotal
We are happy to assist you with this order size.
    Price Match
    Frequently bought together:

    Description

    A moving and unforgettable memoir of a transgender pastor’s journey from despair to joy as she transitioned from male to female and learned about gender inequity, at home and in the workplace—perfect for fans of Redefining Realness and There Is Room for You.

    As a father of three, married to a wonderful woman, and holding several prominent jobs within the Christian community, Dr. Paula Stone Williams made the life-changing decision to physically transition from male to female at the age of sixty. Almost instantly, her power and influence in the evangelical world disappeared and her family had to grapple with intense feelings of loss and confusion.

    Feeling utterly alone and at a loss after being expelled from the evangelical churches she had once spearheaded, Paula struggled to create a new safe space for herself where she could reconcile her faith, her identity, and her desire to be a leader. Much to her surprise, the key to her new career as a woman came with a deeper awareness of the inequities she had overlooked before her transition. Where her opinions were once celebrated and amplified, now she found herself sidelined and ignored. New questions emerged. Why are women’s opinions devalued in favor of men’s? Why does love and intimacy feel so different? And, was it possible to find a new spirituality in her own image?

    In As a Woman, Paula pulls back the curtain on her transition journey and sheds light on the gendered landscape that impacts many in the LGBTQ+ community. She urges men to recognize the ways in which the world is tilted in their favor and validates the experiences of women who have been disregarded based solely on their gender, while also acknowledging how she was once like those men who are blind to their privilege. With equal parts humility and confidence, Paula shares her lived experience of both genders and offers a truly unique perspective on the universal struggle to understand what it means to be male, female, and simply, human.

    The book, As a Woman: What I Learned about Power, Sex, and the Patriarchy After I Transitioned [Bulk, Wholesale, Quantity] ISBN# 9781982153342 in Hardcover by Paula Stone Williams may be ordered in bulk quantities. Minimum starts at 25 copies. Availability based on publisher status and quantity being ordered.
    View AllClose

    Product Details

    Price
    $27.00
    Shipping Weight 1.00 LBS
    Publisher Atria Books
    ISBN-13 9781982153342
    Pages 288
    Format Hardcover
    Publication Date 06/01/2021
    Language English
    View AllClose

    Ordering Information