null Skip to main content
Zoom the image with the mouse

A (Very) Short History of Life on Earth: 4.6 Billion Years in 12 Pithy Chapters

SKU: 9781250276650
shipping_info: Arriving in 4-10 business days
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Product Name: A (Very) Short History of Life on Earth: 4.6 Billion Years in 12 Pithy Chapters
Author: Henry Gee
Language: English
Format: Hardcover
Publication Date: 11/09/2021
ISBN: 1250276659
Pages: 208
SKU: 9781250276650
Share:
Buy More. Save More.
We are happy to assist you with this order size.
    Buy Now
    Format Details
    Hardcover
    Hurry! Only left
    (25 Minimum)
    Your Price:
    $24.99 Save
    Subtotal for copies =
    Details
    Request a quote if your organization requires a formal PDF quote for purchasing. Pricing shown on this page will be the same pricing reflected in the PDF quote.

    Free shipping on orders over $95

    Arriving in 4-10 business days

    Price Match Guarantee.
    DetailsTo request a price match, simply click the “Request a Quote” link above and provide a URL to the lower priced title in the NOTES section. Or email your price match request to sales@bookpal.com.
    Buy More. Save More.
    We are happy to assist you with this order size.
      A (Very) Short History of Life on Earth: 4.6 Billion Years in 12 Pithy Chapters - Cover
      As low as $24.99

      A (Very) Short History of Life on Earth: 4.6 Billion Years in 12 Pithy Chapters

      We can help you leverage the power of books

      Customer Service

      Connect with a dedicated account manager who is there every step of the way.

      Price Match Guarantee

      If you see better pricing elsewhere on your desired quantity, we will price match so you can be sure to get the best pricing.

      Free Shipping

      Enjoy free ground shipping on your order of $95 or more!

      Brand New Guarantee

      We only sell books that are brand new and protect that with a guarantee.

      Customization

      From author signatures to marketing inserts, custom packaging to brand stickers, we can help take your book marketing to the next level.

      Learn more about ordering
      Details
      In the tradition of E.H. Gombrich, Stephen Hawking, and Alan Weisman―An entertaining and uniquely informed narration of Life's life story.

      In the beginning, Earth was an inhospitably alien place―in constant chemical flux, covered with churning seas, crafting its landscape through incessant volcanic eruptions. Amid all this tumult and disaster, life began. The earliest living things were no more than membranes stretched across microscopic gaps in rocks, where boiling hot jets of mineral-rich water gushed out from cracks in the ocean floor.

      Although these membranes were leaky, the environment within them became different from the raging maelstrom beyond. These havens of order slowly refined the generation of energy, using it to form membrane-bound bubbles that were mostly-faithful copies of their parents―a foamy lather of soap-bubble cells standing as tiny clenched fists, defiant against the lifeless world. Life on this planet has continued in much the same way for millennia, adapting to literally every conceivable setback that living organisms could encounter and thriving, from these humblest beginnings to the thrilling and unlikely story of ourselves.

      In A (Very) Short History of Life on Earth, Henry Gee zips through the last 4.6 billion years with infectious enthusiasm and intellectual rigor. Drawing on the very latest scientific understanding and writing in a clear, accessible style, he tells an enlightening tale of survival and persistence that illuminates the delicate balance within which life has always existed.

      The book, A (Very) Short History of Life on Earth: 4.6 Billion Years in 12 Pithy Chapters [Bulk, Wholesale, Quantity] ISBN# 9781250276650 in Hardcover by Henry Gee may be ordered in bulk quantities. Minimum starts at 25 copies. Availability based on publisher status and quantity being ordered.

      Product details

      Publisher: St. Martin's Press
      Product Name: A (Very) Short History of Life on Earth: 4.6 Billion Years in 12 Pithy Chapters
      Author: Henry Gee
      Language: English
      Format: Hardcover
      Publication Date: 11/09/2021
      ISBN: 9781250276650
      Pages: 208
      Publisher: St. Martin's Press
      Product Name: A (Very) Short History of Life on Earth: 4.6 Billion Years in 12 Pithy Chapters
      Author: Henry Gee
      Language: English
      Format: Hardcover
      Publication Date: 11/09/2021
      ISBN: 1250276659
      Pages: 208

      GMA connects authors, speakers, and talent with the right people at the right time.

      Learn More

      About the Author: Henry Gee

      Customer Reviews